Henry Street Festival

August 31, 2009 at 12:53 am Leave a comment

HSHF 2009

by Angela Bennett, STAR co-founder

The Henry Street Heritage Festival is the premier event of the Harrison Museum of African American Culture. The public festival celebrates the history, culture, heritage, and arts of African Americans. Festival goers will find a diverse offering of arts and entertainment in which to participate including national and local talent; educational and historical exhibits; interactive children’s area; as well as arts and crafts from a wide range of vendors, community organizations, and merchants.
 
I remember when I relocated back to Roanoke after being in California for years.  I arrived just as Summer turns to Fall.  No one knew that I had returned and I remember thinking, ”It is about time for the Henry Street Festival.”  I went to that festival feeling disconnected from my community because I had been gone for so long.  During the course of the event, I connected with community leaders, trailblazers, and high school friends.  Not only did I feel a connection to my community during and after the event; I was able to create new connections with other people that had the same passion as I do.
 
The history that emerges from the past is what we draw on to create a better future.  Our culture displays the very things that make us unique and binds us to the entire human race. Our heritage is very important and to share that value with others is strengthening to our spirit and soul.  I love the diversity within my culture and my heritage, most of all I love to celebrate that diversity and embrace the similarities of African Americans.
 
To learn about another race, culture, religion, etc. other than our own is an enriching process, I hope that you will take time to come out and see the dancers, listen to the music, enjoy the food, and most of all broaden your horizon.  The 20th Annual Henry Street Heritage Festival will be held on September 26th, 2009 in Elmwood Park in downtown Roanoke. The festival is from 10:00 am to 10:00 pm.
  
 

STAR will be partnering with the Conflict & Resolution Center at the festival to help kids create a Peace by Piece quilt. Come by our table and bring your young ones to each create their own ‘square’ highlighting their idea of peace in the world.

LINK: http://www.harrisonmuseum.com/henrystreet.html

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Join us Monday at 1:30, Beth Israel Synagogue Pride in the Park, Sunday, Sept 20th

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


STAR CALENDAR

MAY - Local Colors... JUNE - Juneteenth... JULY - On The Edge (Floyd, VA)... AUG - Steppin' Out (Blacksburg, VA)... SEPT - Henry Street Festival, Pride Parade... OCT - Bridgewalk, Latino Festival... NOV -Open Doors Series.... DEC - Taubman Museum/Wine and Wonder... JAN - Writer's Series... FEB - Harrison Museum - Black History Month... MAR -Interfaith Event... APR/MAY - Down by Downtown STAR Festival